Ohio Interpreter Training Programs

While Ohio does not yet require a degree or certification to interpret outside of the K-12 classroom setting, to gain competence in interpreting, one should consider enrolling in an Interpreter Training Program. Ohio has nine institutions that offer degrees related to the field of interpreting:

Programs granting the Ohio Department of Education Associate License: Interpreter for Hearing Impaired

Cincinnati State Community and Technical College
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact: Dawn Caudill, dawn.caudill@cincinnatistate.edu, 513-569-1829

Columbus State Community College
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact: Christine Evenson,  cevenson@cscc.edu, 614-287-5616,

Cuyahoga Community College
Location: Parma, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact: Donna Liebenauer, 216-987-5219, donna.liebenauer@tri-c.edu

Kent State University
Location: Kent, Ohio
Degree: Bachelor's degree
Contact: Kathy Geething, kathyj@zoominternet.net

Ohio University- Lancaster
Location: Lancaster, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact: Becky Brooks, saunderb@ohio.edu, 740-654-6711, ext. 267

Sinclair Community College
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact: Phyllis Adams, phyllis.adams@sinclair.edu, 937-512-2722,

Washington State Community College
Location: Marietta, Ohio
Degree: Associate's Degree
Contact:James Draper, jdraper@wscc.edu, 740-374-8716 Ext 2111,

Additional programs offering degrees in interpreting

University of Cincinnati
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Degree: Bachelor's Degree
Contact: Dr. Suzanne Ehrlich, suzanne.ehrlich@uc.edu, 513-556-1670

Wright State University
Location: Dayton, Ohio Degree: Bachelor's Degree completion program
Contact: Greta Knigga, greta.knigga@wright.edu

National ITP listing: http://www.discoverinterpreting.com//media/78d0a71219fd2f28112e1167e5910198658d7042.pdf